How to Update your LinkedIn Profile without Notifying Contacts

LinkedIn is a professional social networking site that helps you find a job as you can showcase in that your education, your experience, and your skills.

On this site, you add a profile picture, a background picture, your education, your skills, and, most importantly, as it is a job-seeking site, the working experience you have gained through the years.

But LinkedIn is not only a job-seeking site, but it is also a social networking site where you connect with people you know, with your colleagues, and with recruiters and potential employers.

The contacts you have been notified about any updates you do to your LinkedIn profile. But are there any instances that you may not want them to be notified? Let’s find out.

Why you may want your LinkedIn contacts not to be notified when you update your LinkedIn profile?

The answer is really simple. Suppose you are currently working at a company but you are looking for a job outside this company.

So, having in mind that LinkedIn is one of the most important job-seeking sites, if not the most important, you wish to update it in order to make it more noticeable for recruiters and potential employers and to let them know you are open to new job opportunities.

But, of course, you don’t want your current employer or your colleagues to be aware of this fact. So, you just have to update your LinkedIn profile without notifying your contacts. How can this be done? Let’s dive into the process.

How can I update my LinkedIn profile without notifying my contacts?

How can I update my LinkedIn profile without notifying my contacts

In case you are using your desktop and you wish to update your LinkedIn profile without notifying your contacts, here is the process you need to follow:

  • First, you need to go to your LinkedIn homepage and click the “Me” icon that appears at the top.
  • Then, click the “View profile” option and then the “Settings & Privacy” option.
  • After that, click on the “Privacy” option.
  • In the section “Sharing profile edits” turn the option to “No” and from now on your contacts won’t be notified every time you update your LinkedIn profile.

In case you are using your mobile and you want to update your LinkedIn profile without notifying your contacts, you have to follow these steps:

  • First, you need to go to your LinkedIn profile and tap on your profile picture.
  • Then, tap the “View profile” option and then the “Settings & Privacy” option.
  • After that, tap on the “Privacy” option.
  • In the section “Sharing profile edits” turn the option to “No” and from now on your contacts won’t be notified every time you update your LinkedIn profile.

Conclusion

In this article, we have explained why you may not want your contacts to be notified each time you update your LinkedIn profile, but most importantly, we have gone through the process you must follow in order to update your LinkedIn profile without notifying your contacts, either using your desktop or your mobile.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.